Pumpkin Spice Donuts with Cinnamon Sugar

Pumkin Spiced Donuts
I made these donuts two days ago because a friend of mine came back from spending the summer in Alberta and I was just craving some sort of donut all day at work, but working in fast food all the donuts have calorie counts equivalent to a whole meal! These donuts didn’t even make it until the next day, but were immediately gobbled up. The next day at work everyone was jealous of my donuts – Jules saw my photo of them on Facebook and actually thought I bought them. So I came home and still in my uniform made these donuts – it felt really weird to be making donuts at home in my uniform for my work where we make donuts. I brought some to work for my friends and they loved them too. These donuts are sure to impress any guest at tea time.

Makes 24 donuts

Ingredients

Donut
3 cups flour
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
2/3 cup almond or non-dairy milk
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/3 cup applesauce
1/2 cup sugar
4 tbsp brown sugar
4 tsp, vegan margarine, melted
Sugar Coating
1/4 cup vegan margarine, melted
1 cup sugar
2 tsp cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350oF.
2. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg.
3. In another bowl whisk together the on-dairy milk, pumpkin, applesauce, sugar, brown sugar and melted margarine.
4. Mix in the dry ingredients one cup at a time until incorporated. The batter will be thick.
5. Spoon the batter into a piping bag with a large open tip and pipe the batter into greased donut pans.
6. Bake for 12 minutes. Let cool – or else the cinnamon coating will melt.
7. In a small bowl mix together the cinnamon and sugar.
8. Melt the margarine in a small bowl. Let cool so it isn’t super hot before coating to preserve the sugar coating.
9. Brush the melted butter on both sides of the donut and dip in the cinnamon sugar. If you don’t have a basting brush you can use a strong paper towel. You could dip the donuts in the butter but this will result in your sugar coating melting off sooner so dipping directly before eating would be advised.
10. Try not to eat them all at once (good luck with that…)

One thought on “Pumpkin Spice Donuts with Cinnamon Sugar

  1. Ahhh they look freaking amazing, I was just thinking the other day how much I missed doughnuts. Plus I randomly bought a can of pumpkin puree when I saw it on sale so this could be the perfect use for it đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

